12 Feb
  • By Chris Musekiwa
  • Cause in


The Urban Councils Association of Zimbabwe (UCAZ) recently elected new leadership. Clr Josiah Makombe, the Mayor of the City of Gweru is the new  President of UCAZ. He was elected by delegates to the Special General Meeting of UCAZ held recently in Mutare. read more .. 

Clr Makombe heads a Presidential Committee whose other members were also elected by the same Special General Meeting. These are (see picture) from left; Clr Blessing Tandi, First Vice President and Mayor of Mutare; Clr Josiah Makombe, President; Clr Angeline Kasipo, Committee Member representing Women in Local Government and Mayor of Kwekwe; Clr Morgan Dube, Second Vice President and Mayor of Beitbridge and Clr Gibson Hwende, Committee Member representing small towns and local boards and the Chairperson of Chiredzi Town Council. The Committee’s term of office is two years after which they can be elected for a further two years.

The Presidential Committee members have already undergone an induction and leadership training to enable them to lead UCAZ effectively for the next two years. The Presidential Committee is manages the day-to-day operations of the UCAZ secretariat which is headed by a Secretary General.

Chris Musekiwa